Author Topic: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)  (Read 56958 times)

klazen108

  • Administrator
  • The Kid
  • Posts: 286
  • your a kid now your a squid now
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
    • Delicious-Fruit
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #45 on: June 17, 2015, 05:01:04 PM »
Does your player's end step look like this? (some comments and spacing removed so I could fit it all on my monitor at once :P )
(click to show/hide)

There's probably just some more code in the event that has changed since the version you have.

Kyir

  • The Kid
  • Posts: 293
  • Normal Guy
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #46 on: June 17, 2015, 05:06:11 PM »
My player's endstep is only

if (place_meeting(x,y,playerKiller)) {
    killPlayer();
}

Also, this Japanese image is showing up the background and it doesn't seem to actually be in the sprite or background list and??? Is my version of the engine haunted?



My only idea is that I somehow messed up in fixing the GUI and somehow told Game Maker to draw one of the commented out sections of text but I really don't think even I could mess up code that badly. It also only seems to be happening in a single room of the project.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 05:33:02 PM by Kyir »

klazen108

  • Administrator
  • The Kid
  • Posts: 286
  • your a kid now your a squid now
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
    • Delicious-Fruit
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #47 on: June 17, 2015, 05:33:52 PM »
Uhhhhhhhhhh....

Yeah idk why you would have random Japanese text showing up, looks like it could be a font texture problem. I'll need some more details to figure it out. Does it happen in every room, every time? Or just occasionally? Is it always the same image, or does it look different sometimes? Any objects that you add that seem to cause it to happen? is 'Clear Display Buffer with Window Colour' checked in the room editor under views?

For the collision stuff, you should replace your end step event with the new version, I'll paste it here so you don't have to download the whole thing:
(click to show/hide)

Then make sure to add the code to player create & platform player collision like I said a couple posts ago, and your platforms should work. If you get another errror, well, then I forgot to copy some code again

Kyir

  • The Kid
  • Posts: 293
  • Normal Guy
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #48 on: June 17, 2015, 05:38:51 PM »
It's only happening in one room, and something I did moved it at some point without actually changing any code or anything in that room. It appears to be the same text every time, but I don't have a screenshot of what it was before it moved. That box also is checked, should it not be? I think it was on by default.

EDIT: I cleared all the tiles and objects from that area of the screen, and that made that particular instance of the message go away, so I guess it has something to do with one of them?
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 05:44:00 PM by Kyir »

klazen108

  • Administrator
  • The Kid
  • Posts: 286
  • your a kid now your a squid now
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
    • Delicious-Fruit
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #49 on: June 17, 2015, 05:50:44 PM »
Ok yeah, it sounds like it was a texture issue all along. Are you shift-dragging or ctrl-dragging to select multiple tiles on a tileset? Because when you do, game maker will let you select outside the boundaries of the tileset. And that tileset is actually part of a larger image onto which game maker packs all your graphics for your GPU... and I would guess that it just so happens that there was some Japanese text stored over there :Kappa: It's hard to diagnose because it typically shows as blank in the room editor, but in-game can be whatever is resident in your graphics memory.

Kyir

  • The Kid
  • Posts: 293
  • Normal Guy
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #50 on: June 17, 2015, 05:55:39 PM »
I haven't been doing it intentionally, but have no problem believing that I did accidentally at some point. Fixing this is going to be such a pain. Thanks for your help.

klazen108

  • Administrator
  • The Kid
  • Posts: 286
  • your a kid now your a squid now
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
    • Delicious-Fruit
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #51 on: June 17, 2015, 06:01:57 PM »
I found another way to make it happen too, looks like game maker will keep the selected tile where it was when you switch tilesets, even if that's outside the boundary of the new tileset... Watch an example here

So yeah that's neat

pieceofcheese87

  • Global Moderator
  • The Kid
  • Posts: 346
  • Personal Text
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
    • Twitch Tv Channel
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #52 on: June 17, 2015, 10:55:45 PM »
Great job solving the mystery of the spooky japanese text, gang.
Signature

nops

  • Wannabe
  • Posts: 11
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #53 on: June 24, 2015, 12:41:01 PM »
Sorry if this is obvious but, how do you use triggers with this engine?

verveplay

  • Wannabe
  • Posts: 31
  • Hi
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #54 on: June 28, 2015, 10:57:33 AM »
As a GMS engine user, <3
Edit: Started using it. Speechless. Now i see what people meant when they said original GMS engine was bad-ish.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2015, 12:04:29 PM by verveplay »

klazen108

  • Administrator
  • The Kid
  • Posts: 286
  • your a kid now your a squid now
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.124 Chrome 43.0.2357.124
    • View Profile
    • Delicious-Fruit
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #55 on: June 28, 2015, 10:51:18 PM »
Glad you like it! The GMS engine wasn't terrible, but there were some minor physics inconsistencies and some missing polish. We tried our best to incorporate everything that fangame developers have come to expect from the GM8 engines so that you could spend less time getting used to the new environment and more time making your fangame!

Kyir

  • The Kid
  • Posts: 293
  • Normal Guy
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.130 Chrome 43.0.2357.130
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #56 on: July 03, 2015, 11:38:33 PM »
I'm getting "Shader loading error" while trying to compile and I'm using a fresh download of the engine. Any ideas?

EDIT: The solution appears to be not using weird characters in the file name. Lesson learned.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2015, 11:43:49 PM by Kyir »

TheGamerGuy500

  • Cherry Eater
  • Posts: 62
  • I'm a gamer and a guy, video-game-music junkie...
  • OS:
  • Mac OS X 10.9.5 Mac OS X 10.9.5
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.130 Chrome 43.0.2357.130
    • View Profile
    • TheGamerGuy500 HQ
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #57 on: July 04, 2015, 03:59:15 PM »
I'd be wanting to import a project from 8.1 and somehow kinda combine it with this engine, any way that could be possible?
EDIT: It uses the yuutuu engine and kinda relied on the "set uninitialized variables as value 0" since I'm no pro :BibleThump:
also I have the full version of studio
« Last Edit: July 04, 2015, 04:03:01 PM by TheGamerGuy500 »
Pro tip: you gotta run and jump at the same time!
Notice: She doesn't stop spinning.

:KappaHD:

Kyir

  • The Kid
  • Posts: 293
  • Normal Guy
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 43.0.2357.130 Chrome 43.0.2357.130
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #58 on: July 04, 2015, 09:19:28 PM »
I wouldn't hold your breath on that one.

RandomFangamer

  • Cherry Eater
  • Posts: 71
  • Pico Pico Piiiiiii
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 38.0 Firefox 38.0
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: I Wanna Be the Engine KS Edition (For GMStudio)
« Reply #59 on: July 05, 2015, 09:39:35 AM »
Thank you so much Klazen
You have  :denProgress:-d the community

Suggestions:
Add an example boss that uses a timeline just to educate new game makers (like me :Kappa:) on how to make a boss
« Last Edit: July 05, 2015, 09:48:11 PM by RandomFangamer »




:ItsBoshyTime: o o o o o :denProgress: o o o o o :paraKid: