Author Topic: game maker help  (Read 9442 times)

Rpup

  • Wannabe
  • Posts: 15
  • OS:
  • Windows 8/Server 2012 Windows 8/Server 2012
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
Re: game maker help
« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2013, 12:24:53 PM »
Hey again, on my first screen when pressing R to restart it doesnt take me to the start of that screen. Which script do i need to change?

Also the save box isnt appearing when i run the game even though it is on the room editior. Not sure how to fix this
« Last Edit: December 04, 2013, 12:32:17 PM by Rpup »

Olivebates

  • Head
  • Alumi
  • Cherry Eater
  • Posts: 89
  • Oh god, why did I make this?
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 30.0.1599.101 Chrome 30.0.1599.101
    • View Profile
    • Tumblr News Feed
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: game maker help
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2013, 12:54:20 PM »
For your first question, you need to have an object, that has an event for "When 'R' is pressed", and put the "restart room" command in that event. Then you place that object in every room of the game. Alternatively to placing it in every room in the game, you can check the box called "persistant" in the object editor window. Then only place the object in the very first room of the game. "persistant" means that the object will carry on, to every other room of the game. The "world" object, is already set as a persistant object. So all you need to do, is put the command into that object.


Your second question; please post the info on the save object that isn't spawning, the same way you did earlier:
sorry, is this any better? https://imgur.com/Ha4VlHe
« Last Edit: December 04, 2013, 12:57:40 PM by Olivebates »
When you don't know the rules, anything's possible.

Rpup

  • Wannabe
  • Posts: 15
  • OS:
  • Windows 8/Server 2012 Windows 8/Server 2012
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
Re: game maker help
« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2013, 12:58:56 PM »

I think i fixed the save box problem however I now have a new problem.

I changed the menuselect code to take you to the first screen, which is fine, however it doesnt seem to be saving the game, so everytime i exit and replay it starts from the first screen again even though it says the time and death count on that menu icon.

Thanks for any help =)
« Last Edit: December 04, 2013, 02:58:28 PM by Rpup »

Olivebates

  • Head
  • Alumi
  • Cherry Eater
  • Posts: 89
  • Oh god, why did I make this?
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 30.0.1599.101 Chrome 30.0.1599.101
    • View Profile
    • Tumblr News Feed
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: game maker help
« Reply #18 on: December 04, 2013, 04:10:06 PM »
We aren't really sitting with the engine open ourselves, it would help us help you if you would post the code.
When you don't know the rules, anything's possible.

Rpup

  • Wannabe
  • Posts: 15
  • OS:
  • Windows 8/Server 2012 Windows 8/Server 2012
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
Re: game maker help
« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2013, 05:14:16 PM »
Hi, sorry about that. Here is the code I menuselect code that i changed

Code: [Select]
//カーソル移動
if(keyboard_check_pressed(global.leftbutton) == true){
  sound_play(sndJump);
  select -= 1;
  if(select < 1){
    select = 3;
  }
}else if(keyboard_check_pressed(global.rightbutton) == true){
  sound_play(sndJump);
  select += 1;
  if(select > 3){
    select = 1;
  }
}else if(keyboard_check_pressed(global.jumpbutton) == true){
  global.savenum = select;
  room_goto(sampleroom04);
}



I was also wondering how to play music with the play music icon. I dont want to play music from the game maker event because I dont want it to keep repeating. I read an earlier topic about this and it said to type if !sound_isplaying(song) { sound_loop(song); } on the creation code

Only problem is this is the code for the music player
 
Code: [Select]
//音楽を鳴らす
/**
詳しくは、Roomに配置されているplayMusicを
Ctrl押しながら右クリックをして
「CreationCode vを選択して中を覗いて下さい。
そこで、再生するSoundが宣言されています。
**/

so im not really sure how to get my track playing with that code

Thanks

infern0man1

  • ~(=^・ω・^)ψ
  • Global Moderator
  • Oatmeal Killer
  • Posts: 1.021
  • Dear sir stroke madam, fire exclamation point
  • OS:
  • Windows Vista/Server 2008 Windows Vista/Server 2008
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: game maker help
« Reply #20 on: December 04, 2013, 05:26:19 PM »
Hi, sorry about that. Here is the code I menuselect code that i changed

Code: [Select]
//カーソル移動
if(keyboard_check_pressed(global.leftbutton) == true){
  sound_play(sndJump);
  select -= 1;
  if(select < 1){
    select = 3;
  }
}else if(keyboard_check_pressed(global.rightbutton) == true){
  sound_play(sndJump);
  select += 1;
  if(select > 3){
    select = 1;
  }
}else if(keyboard_check_pressed(global.jumpbutton) == true){
  global.savenum = select;
  room_goto(sampleroom04);
}



I was also wondering how to play music with the play music icon. I dont want to play music from the game maker event because I dont want it to keep repeating. I read an earlier topic about this and it said to type if !sound_isplaying(song) { sound_loop(song); } on the creation code

Only problem is this is the code for the music player
 
Code: [Select]
//音楽を鳴らす
/**
詳しくは、Roomに配置されているplayMusicを
Ctrl押しながら右クリックをして
「CreationCode vを選択して中を覗いて下さい。
そこで、再生するSoundが宣言されています。
**/

so im not really sure how to get my track playing with that code

Thanks



First off, yuuutu edition originally leads to rSelectStage. From there you hop into a portal, which then saves your game afterwards.
alternatively, use menuSelect2. it doesn't require rSelectStage



for playMusic, the code stated is a bunch of broken-japanese characters that was used to help explain what to do originally. Don't do anything within the object. Just place it in the room and either ctrl+right click or just right click the playMusic object. then, in the object's creation code, use the if !sound_isplaying(...){sound_loop(...);}

Hope this helps

Rpup

  • Wannabe
  • Posts: 15
  • OS:
  • Windows 8/Server 2012 Windows 8/Server 2012
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
Re: game maker help
« Reply #21 on: December 04, 2013, 05:51:58 PM »
thanks, that really helps =D

Rpup

  • Wannabe
  • Posts: 15
  • OS:
  • Windows 8/Server 2012 Windows 8/Server 2012
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
Re: game maker help
« Reply #22 on: December 04, 2013, 06:06:10 PM »
what should i add to this code to lower the music volume?

Code: [Select]
if !sound_isplaying(track01) { sound_loop(track01); }

lemonxreaper

  • Administrator
  • Spike Dodger
  • Posts: 222
  • Do you even needle?
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
Re: game maker help
« Reply #23 on: December 04, 2013, 07:09:21 PM »
edit the audio with an external program such as audacity. really though a lot of what you are asking is gamemaker basics. I advice you look up a tutorial or read the manual. asking for help for specific things is understandable. but you cant ask for help at every turn.
Just pretend I have a cool picture like Zero.
Completed Fangames: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4678222/Complete%20Fangames.txt

Rpup

  • Wannabe
  • Posts: 15
  • OS:
  • Windows 8/Server 2012 Windows 8/Server 2012
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
Re: game maker help
« Reply #24 on: December 04, 2013, 07:30:52 PM »
='( sorry
« Last Edit: December 04, 2013, 07:35:26 PM by Rpup »

lemonxreaper

  • Administrator
  • Spike Dodger
  • Posts: 222
  • Do you even needle?
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
Re: game maker help
« Reply #25 on: December 04, 2013, 07:49:15 PM »
its fine honestly, don't worry about it.
I didn't intend that message to be as harsh as it may have come across.
I just suggest looking up the relevant material such as basics and basic functions as there's multiple sources, its written with your level of coding ability in mind and you find it faster without having to wait for replies as well as saving people time and being more self rewarding. beyond that though feel free to ask questions. if its something you don't understand or a idea you are unsure of how to pull off or the odd technical difficulty :P
Just pretend I have a cool picture like Zero.
Completed Fangames: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4678222/Complete%20Fangames.txt

Sephalos

  • Spike Dodger
  • Posts: 228
  • OS:
  • Windows Vista/Server 2008 Windows Vista/Server 2008
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Gamepad
Re: game maker help
« Reply #26 on: December 05, 2013, 01:21:06 AM »
When I first got into Game Maker I had almost no coding experience. So, I sat down one night and read the Game Maker help manual.

(click to show/hide)

I didn't remember everything at first. So I would refer back to the manual whenever I needed a reminder. Eventually, everything becomes second nature and you can code with ease. The rest just comes up to logical thinking and math.

dYnAm1c

  • Wannabe
  • Posts: 24
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.57 Chrome 31.0.1650.57
    • View Profile
Re: game maker help
« Reply #27 on: December 05, 2013, 06:09:43 PM »
There are also some tutorials for coding and scripting in Game Maker Studio, not sure of the other versions, which are quite good.