Author Topic: Need help with traps, and something to help in my gamemaking future  (Read 3032 times)

Rad

• Wannabe
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.157 Chrome 44.0.2403.157
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
So, I'm not sure how to make traps in the design that I want. I would like to make traps such as increasing the size of spikes, making spikes move and stop at specific positions (to make it so that the player will have to go through a segment fast or the spikes will block the exit). I am not good at coding to even do simple things like this.

Mainly, if you've played the trap area in "I Wanna Live", or the medley section of it in Kill the Maker, I'd like to do something like that for a whole game. Think Betty/Rukito area for normal skill levels. I'd like my game to be more of a trigger game rather than just traps aimed to cheese the player into trial-and-error.

I am mainly working off of Klazen's guide, and it has been very useful, but I am not skilled enough or knowledgeable enough to try new things. I am at a point where I can visualize all the concepts and ideas I have, but I cannot make them into a reality. A tutorial video/guide or anything that would help me is greatly appreciated. If someone could link me a couple of guides that THEY used to get them into fangame making, I am willing to take anything at this point! I'm thinking in terms of not having to ask on the forums everytime I can't figure something out.

I hope that I can become a complex and interesting gamemaker in the future! Thanks! :)

Anon70000

• Cherry Eater
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 39.0 Firefox 39.0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with traps, and something to help in my gamemaking future
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2015, 01:28:42 PM »
increasing the size of spikes
(click to show/hide)
making spikes move and stop at specific positions
(click to show/hide)
thanks based Nikaple.

Derf