Author Topic: roomChanger problem  (Read 2714 times)

bart_xs

  • Trial Wannabe
  • Posts: 6
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 40.0.2214.111 Chrome 40.0.2214.111
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
roomChanger problem
« on: February 17, 2015, 10:02:20 AM »
I have made it like in klazens tutorial, where i want the player to walk off the side and send you to the next level and you walk in from the opposite side, but for some reason the game changes over to the level but my player dissapears.

I have made it like this https://imgur.com/W7Tg0zk

im using yuuutos engine

What could be the problem?
« Last Edit: February 17, 2015, 10:05:29 AM by bart_xs »

Skulldude899

  • Cherry Eater
  • Posts: 89
  • no
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 35.0 Firefox 35.0
    • View Profile
    • TwitchTV Channel - Skulldude899
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: roomChanger problem
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 04:07:57 PM »
Well, are you sure you placed the playerStart object on the room you are supposed to warp to? It could be something else, but I'm not rly experienced with the Yuuutu engine.
:IceFairy:  c h i l l m e m e s b r o  :IceFairy:

bart_xs

  • Trial Wannabe
  • Posts: 6
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 40.0.2214.111 Chrome 40.0.2214.111
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: roomChanger problem
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2015, 09:26:11 AM »
hm do i need a playerStart on the next level? In klazen tutorial it sounds like its supposed to just spawn me at the edge of the map on the opposite side.

"The roomChanger will do the rest for you, sending you to the next room, on the opposite side of the screen from where you left the last room. You shouldn't need to change it, but the actual room transition code is located in the player object's Intersect Boundary event if you want to see it."

Skulldude899

  • Cherry Eater
  • Posts: 89
  • no
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 35.0 Firefox 35.0
    • View Profile
    • TwitchTV Channel - Skulldude899
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: roomChanger problem
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2015, 10:19:35 AM »
The playerStart object makes it so the Kid spawns wherever you want, the roomChanger only leads the Kid to whichever room you want. Idk if the roomTo=rStage01 is the only code you put there, cuz that code only warps the player to the room called rStage01. Again, that might not be how it works on Yuuutu cuz I use Lemon's and I only know the basics.
:IceFairy:  c h i l l m e m e s b r o  :IceFairy:

lemonxreaper

  • Administrator
  • Spike Dodger
  • Posts: 222
  • Do you even needle?
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.63 Chrome 31.0.1650.63
    • View Profile
Re: roomChanger problem
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2015, 10:21:40 AM »
if you are using the latest version of yuuutu I think you need to use the object called "OutsideRoomChanger" as opposed to the normal roomChanger, this was made different to fix a few bugs.
Just pretend I have a cool picture like Zero.
Completed Fangames: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4678222/Complete%20Fangames.txt

klazen108

  • Administrator
  • The Kid
  • Posts: 286
  • your a kid now your a squid now
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 40.0.2214.111 Chrome 40.0.2214.111
    • View Profile
    • Delicious-Fruit
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: roomChanger problem
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2015, 10:32:59 AM »
It works for me in the basic yuuutu engine, so something else about your rooms must be off. You don't need a playerstart object in the next room, the kid from the last room will go over. make sure there's not a block in the next room where the kid wants to go. If the room you're warping from is not the same size as the room you're warping to then you will have issues.

It might help to see the room the kid is supposed to go to, so we can see if something else is going on.

Walking between rooms:
https://gyazo.com/6e170088b73ccd9e2240fd2a3a2eb519

Room layouts:
(click to show/hide)

Code explanation:
(click to show/hide)

lemonxreaper

  • Administrator
  • Spike Dodger
  • Posts: 222
  • Do you even needle?
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.63 Chrome 31.0.1650.63
    • View Profile
Re: roomChanger problem
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2015, 11:25:53 AM »
Just pretend I have a cool picture like Zero.
Completed Fangames: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4678222/Complete%20Fangames.txt

bart_xs

  • Trial Wannabe
  • Posts: 6
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 40.0.2214.111 Chrome 40.0.2214.111
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: roomChanger problem
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2015, 01:28:40 PM »
@klazen its 100% what i want it to do, the height and width is the same on both rooms, but it still does the same thing, where it changes room but my player disappears.

ive noticed the same thing as lemon, where in the code for my player object it says "outsideroomChanger", but even if i use roomChanger or outsideroomChanger it does the same thing, i even tried changing the codes to roomChanger, but its the same thing.

ice also tried using playerStart or player objects in the first stage, but it didnt change anything


(click to show/hide)

(click to show/hide)
« Last Edit: February 18, 2015, 01:33:06 PM by bart_xs »

klazen108

  • Administrator
  • The Kid
  • Posts: 286
  • your a kid now your a squid now
  • OS:
  • Windows 8.1/Server 2013 Windows 8.1/Server 2013
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 40.0.2214.111 Chrome 40.0.2214.111
    • View Profile
    • Delicious-Fruit
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: roomChanger problem
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2015, 10:58:49 PM »
Alright, if you have an outsideroomChanger object then it means you're using a newer version of yuuutu, one that's different from the one I used when I wrote the tutorial. I opened up the new version  and turns out the roomchanger functionality is indeed broken. To fix it, you need to remove two lines from the player's code:
(click to show/hide)

This will make the outsideroomChanger behave like the old roomChanger object. Guess I need to update my tutorial (I've got a lot of things in there that need changing anyway...)

bart_xs

  • Trial Wannabe
  • Posts: 6
  • OS:
  • Windows 7/Server 2008 R2 Windows 7/Server 2008 R2
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 40.0.2214.111 Chrome 40.0.2214.111
    • View Profile
  • Playstyle: Keyboard
Re: roomChanger problem
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2015, 09:15:05 AM »
yes it worked prefect!

Thanks alot klazen, you explain it very good so its easy to understand and fix :)
« Last Edit: February 19, 2015, 09:18:04 AM by bart_xs »