I Wanna Community

Fangames => User-Made Creations => Engines => Topic started by: YoYoYoDude1 on December 23, 2016, 03:32:28 PM

Title: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: YoYoYoDude1 on December 23, 2016, 03:32:28 PM
Hey guys!
GameMaker Studio 2 is currently in beta and has a bunch of new features and improvements, so I decided to start making a new fangame engine for it in case people wanted to give GMS2 a try. Keep in mind this is an early version of the engine that is missing a few features I'm planning on adding and that the current engine requires the full version of GMS2.

About

Features

Important notes

Special thanks

To-do list

Download
I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition v0.9 (https://www.mediafire.com/file/6d4g0zs9kp5z9lv)
GitHub repository (httpss://github.com/YoYoYoDude/I_Wanna_GMS2_YoYo_Edition)

Changelog:
Code: [Select]
v0.9 (03/08/17):
-Updated project to GMS2 v2.0.5.76
-Tweaked main menu cursor so that it stays in the same place after switching between different menus
-Some minor tweaks/fixes

v0.8 (12/23/15):
-Initial public release
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: Jmannorway on April 07, 2017, 11:14:16 AM
Siiick, I'll try it out.
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: Jmannorway on June 10, 2017, 07:07:38 AM
Bug?

httpss://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYL6B2_Ak4c
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: Zero-G on June 10, 2017, 08:51:46 AM
(httpss://ih0.redbubble.net/image.201524990.5192/ap,220x200,12x16,1,ffffff,t-pad,220x200,ffffff.jpg)
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: Jmannorway on June 10, 2017, 04:57:21 PM
(httpss://ih0.redbubble.net/image.201524990.5192/ap,220x200,12x16,1,ffffff,t-pad,220x200,ffffff.jpg)

Dear mr. Zero. I know people sometimes do some obvious dumb shit without even realizing it but, when these things happen, can you actually explain things instead of just being a dick? big thank
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: YoYoYoDude1 on June 11, 2017, 04:51:30 AM
Yes, the top of the Kid's jumping sprite peeks outside of the hitbox by a couple pixels. It's like that in pretty much every fangame engine as far as I'm aware.
Not really a bug, more of a weird visual design decision since the jumping sprite is longer than the hitbox itself.
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: Jmannorway on June 11, 2017, 05:52:24 AM
Yes, the top of the Kid's jumping sprite peeks outside of the hitbox by a couple pixels. It's like that in pretty much every fangame engine as far as I'm aware.
Not really a bug, more of a weird visual design decision since the jumping sprite is longer than the hitbox itself.

Hi YoYo o/

Thanks, that makes sense.
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: ViTheGhost on February 02, 2018, 08:47:56 AM
Sorry to necro a thread.

For some reason, when I try using this engine, it runs way faster than other fangames. The room speed is 100% set to 50. I've tested it at various other room speeds, 30, 40 and 49. They all function as they should. However, fifty, for whatever reason, is a bit faster. You can see it being demonstrated in this gif
(httpss://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/390637257385836565/408978471042416640/2018-02-02_07-34-04.gif)

I've spent a lot of time trying to figure this out, but nothing seems to work. I've tried setting the room_speed through code, setting vsync to true instead of false, and using game_set_speed. I have a sneaking suspicion it's a fault of GameMaker and not Yoyo's engine.

The closest I've gotten to a fix is using
Code: [Select]
game_set_speed(49.9999999,gamespeed_fps) in the Game Start event. But you can probably tell a very slight difference. If anyone has any idea how to solve this, I'll kiss you on the mouth :)

EDIT: The gif really doesn't show it off very well. It's a lot more noticeable when you're playing it. The jumps feel a lot heavier and more precise.
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: WetWookie on February 02, 2018, 06:41:04 PM
If you draw the FPS to the screen, what number gets displayed?
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: ViTheGhost on February 04, 2018, 02:14:28 PM
If you draw the FPS to the screen, what number gets displayed?

For whatever reason it fluctuates between 58-63. Very strange.
Title: Re: I Wanna Be The GMS2 Engine YoYoYo Edition
Post by: HAEGOE on September 08, 2018, 03:52:16 AM
I ran into a problem that makes character get stuck sometimes.
luckily it was shallow enough to jump out and something I could fix myself, but I think you'll have to change the scrSaveGame script a bit.


Quote
    global.savePlayerX = objPlayer.x;   
    global.savePlayerY = objPlayer.y;
to     
Quote
    global.savePlayerX = objPlayer.x-objPlayer.hspeed;   
    global.savePlayerY = objPlayer.y-objPlayer.vspeed;
I think it's the savePlayerX/Y somehow gets objPlayer's x and y position with its speed added.